MalaysianWings - Malaysia's Premier Aviation Portal
Sign in to follow this  
Isaac

Kota Kinabalu International NEW TERMINAL

user posted image

Below is the article :

user posted image

The article is in Chinese. I'm not good at doing translation, so i'll leave this task to other users here who know Chinese smile.gif

Some important points :

- current runway is 2988m long, will soon become 3780m.

- The terminal can accomodate 4x 747, 1x 333, 7x 737, 3x F50 & 3x Dornier at once (remote stands included).

- Kota Kinabalu International will become the 2nd only airport in M'sia to have a dedicated terminal for LCC. The LC terminal can handle 5x 320.

By the way, there is no picture of the low cost terminal yet. I think the the current terminal 2 will be the low cost terminal.

Edited by Isaac

saw the similar news in The Star today. Very nice looking terminal though. Its not that KLIA-ish like all otehr airports. Miri airport looks exactly like KLIA.

the roof look like new Alor Star Terminal and it look like KLIA with future airport concept... Where the control tower ??? great to know this.. anyone has a clear picture of this concept picture.

TRANSLATION OF THE ABOVE NEWSPAPER ARTICLE

(Kota Kinabalu Oct 4) The plan for expanding Kota Kinabalu Int’l Airport to turn her into the 2nd biggest LCC hub in our country will begin vigorously early next year. Currently, early phases of the project such as land filling have already begun. The airport terminal will be three times its original size when completed

The project will include land filling of 20 metric tonnes (?) It will not affect the Tanjung Aru race course near the end of the runway.

Able to handle 9 million passengers